This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Dubrava (Municipality, Zagreb County, Croatia)

Last modified: 2014-08-11 by ivan sache
Keywords: dubrava |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Municipal flag]

Flag of Dubrava - Image by Željko Heimer, 26 October 2013

See also:

Presentation of Dubrava

The municipality of Dubrava (5,478 inhabitants in 2001, 1,275 in the village of Dubrava) is located southeast of Vrbovec, some 50 km east of Zagreb (not to be confused with the former Community of Dubrava of the same name, which was part of the Town of Zagreb).
Dubrava, mentioned already in 1094 in a charter issued by King Ladislaus I, had in the Middle Ages a fortification with nine towers, placed under the jurisdiction of the bishops of Zagreb.
The Parliament of Croatia met there in 1527, electing John Zápolya as the Croatian king, opposed to the Cetingrad Assembly of 1526/27 electing Ferdinand Habsburg as the king, and resulting in a long civil war until Zápolya's death in 1540, when the Habsburgs prevailed.

Željko Heimer, 13 December 2008

Flag of Dubrava

The symbols of Dubrava are described in the current Municipality Statutes Statut Općine Dubrava, adopted on 20 July 2009 by the Municipality Assembly and published on 10 August 2009 in the Zagreb County official gazette Glasnik Zagrebačke županije, No. 20.

The flag is green with the coat of arms, bordered yellow, in the middle.

Željko Heimer, 13 December 2008

Coat of arms of Dubrava

[Municipal arms]

Coat of arms of Dubrava - Image by Željko Heimer, 26 October 2013

The coat of arms of Dubrava is "Azure a deer salient proper over a base vert".
It is based on a seal from 1636. The colored version is shown by Lašovski [lsv39]. The modern version is similar, but not entirely the same as in Lašovski's book.

Željko Heimer, 13 December 2008