This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Wesermarsch county (Germany)

Landkreis Wesermarsch, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2014-06-28 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: wesermarsch |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Wesermarsch County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 12 Jan 2008
Flag adopted - unofficial

See also:

Wesermarsch county

County: Wesermarsch
county seat: Brake (Unterweser)
area: 821.92 qkm
population: 93,094
divisions: 9 municipalities, incl. 2 towns
Flag adopted - unofficial
CoA adopted 2nd February 1953
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community  in Lower Saxony.
Jörg Majewski, 12 Jan 2008


[Wesermarsch county arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 12 Jan 2008
adopted 2 Feb 1953

The arms were granted on February 2, 1953.
The right part of the arms shows the bars of the Counts of Oldenburg. A large part of the district belonged to Oldenburg since 1234. The ship in the upper left part is a Kogge, a typical medieval trading ship. It symbolises the longtime trade at the mouth of the Weser river. The warrior in the lower left quarter symbolises the old Frisian tribes that lived in the area.
Literature : Stadler, K. : Deutsche Wappen - Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Angelsachsen Verlag, 1964-1971, 8 volumes.
Source: Ralf Hartemink.